Dear Pearls

I was going through my scrapbooks & albums, and a lot of the stuff in it involved you girls. It sent me back to the good times. It’s been a while since we last talked/met. It’s crazy, right? Of course, I’m the one at fault for that. I didn’t…and still couldn’t communicate well enough. If we were asked before whether we could see our lives without each other – we would’ve definitely asked back “what kind of question is that??”

But, here we are…

I would be lying if I said that I haven’t thought about you or that I didn’t miss you. So many things have happened since we last talked and I don’t know where to begin. Thank you for being with me for as long as you were. Thank you for being patient with me. Thank you for the memories that I will always keep with me. Thank you for being my best friends—and dealing with everything that comes with that. 

More than a decade of laughter and loyalty that I would not take back or change, despite now knowing that ultimately, we would only spend a few chapters together and not the whole story as I always imagined. Although it may not seem like it but, I managed to go through some of the hardest days of my life simply because you were there with me. You’re still the first that I think of when I think of the word “best friend” – I don’t know when or if ever, that will change. I have lost several friendships throughout my life, as we all do. Some from early childhood, some from school, some from college and some from work, but none of them truly felt like a loss – just a time to move on in our lives. But not this friendship…no, this was different. You girls were the only people who I can call as best friends, and you will always hold that title.

So, thank you.

Maybe it’s just because I’m not feeling well now, or it could be the fact that I’m writing this in the silence of the night, or maybe I’m just going through PMS, but I just feel extra emotional today.

I’m sorry that this is the only thing I’m able to do for you now…Stay safe and take care ❤

Leave a comment